So how many woes can bad internet cause? and other thoughts.

So, I am clearly behind in my 30 paintings in 30 days thing, but as you see, image upload is a no-go.  My lovely rural town has over extended its internet service and getting any speed has become virtually impossible lately.  However, I have plans for a work-around, so please stay posted.

In the meantime, I have started a large painting, and have decided to focus on larger works for the remainder of the majority of the month.  Most of my posts will be progression instead of finished pieces.  I have been thinking a lot about the  concept of wasted time after a wonderful conversation with  a dear friend.  How much time do we, as women, spend second-guessing ourselves?  how much time do we spend worrying about our weight?  our wrinkles?  our clothes?  How much of our precious life  do we spend on “ideals”  because of our own anxieties created in our own heads?  10 hours a week?  20 hours a week?  12 hours a day?  When I  began to think about this, I found it staggering and profoundly sad.

Maybe a part of our journey as a woman is really saying “enough”.  Being able to disengage from the “trying to be” and just “being” may be the goal. Perhaps authenticity and honesty are the beginnings of our enlightenment as women, and as members of the human race. It’s likely we’ve been wasting our time.

from-below

From Below, 10″x20″, ink, acrylic, collage on canvas.

Leave a comment